Community Reinvestment Act
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Disclosures > Community Reinvestment Act

Investing in the future of our communities

What does Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) mean?

The Community Reinvestment Act is intended to encourage depository institutions to help meet the credit needs of the communities in which they operate, including low- and moderate-income neighborhoods, consistent with safe and sound banking operations. It was enacted by the Congress in 1977 (12 U.S.C. 2901) and is implemented by Regulations 12 CFR parts 25, 228, 345, and 563e.

The CRA requires that each insured depository institution's record in helping meet the credit needs of its entire community be evaluated periodically. That record is taken into account in considering an institution's application for deposit facilities, including mergers and acquisitions. CRA examinations (see Exam Schedules) are conducted by the federal agencies that are responsible for supervising depository institutions: the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System (FRB), the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC), and the Office of Thrift Supervision (OTS).

How IMCB takes the lead in our Communities


  • Bonds supporting IMCB Urban Renewal Areas and Communities
  • Mortgage Backed Securities for Low Moderate Income Housing
  • Industrial Revenue Bonds for Small Businesses
  • Donations and Grants to Nonprofits to Build Community Capacity


  • Small Business and Farms
  • Community Development Loans
  • Affordable Housing
  • Nonprofits
  • Municipalities
  • Certified Development Financial Institutions


  • Community Match for Nonprofits
  • Education
  • Senior Citizens
  • Employee Community Involvement with Nonprofits, Schools, and Government
  • Money Smart Financial Literacy Programs for all ages
  • Affordable Workforce Housing Summits


  • Home$tart Savings
  • Directo
  • Get Checking